Are you sure that wasn’t Monday??

This is what happened to me yesterday:

I got up early (for me – give me a break) and went to the gym to work out with my buddy J.  We did our cardio and then decided that even though we hate doing legs, it was going to be a leg day. 

First machine:  Squats.  I did about four squats when something in the right lower back quadrant went OW.  I was puzzled by this…because I was doing legs.  And I’m not that smart.  Because apparently they ARE related.  So I did two more squats.  Goodness – still OW.

So I tried something else.  Then I said to J, “I think I’m done.”  We both seemed too happy about that.  But that’s only because we hate the gym.  We like each other, but we hate the gym.

So I left.  And seriously, my back really hurt (and still does – what the what??).  I’m limping and hobbling like an 80 year old.

So when I get in my car to go home I check my phone and I have two messages:  One from my husband asking if I’d seen the registration renewal for his truck, since he’d just gotten pulled over for being expired.  I hadn’t.  Weird.  First fire.

I went into my husband’s office to look for the registration card.  I didn’t find that, but I DID find Mini’s registration card for the car HE drives, and guess what?  EXPIRED as well.

What the what??

Got the registration for the truck paid because it didn’t need emission and inspection, but Mini’s car does.  Can’t do his just yet because he DOES need emission and inspection…

Second fire:  Number three text messaged, “Have you paid tuition?”  GAH!!  No I had not.  It was due the day before.  And if you don’t pay by the due date they drop all your classes.  FIRE!  FIRE!  FIRE!!  Somehow I got it paid without him dropping classes.

Whew.

I got ready for work.  I work once a week and I can pick the day.  Even though it was snowy outside I continued getting ready for work, because it was, you know, Tuesday, and I usually work Tuesday, and to be honest, once I’m dressed and ready, the decision is done.  I mean, who wants to change clothes once you’re in them?  Huh?

Back in the car.  And my back still hurts.  Grandma movements all the way.  I drove down my street and almost slid into a brick barrier on the way out of my neighborhood.  I thought, “Hmm.  Maybe I shouldn’t go out in this?”

But again – I was, you know, dressed.  So I thought, hey, I’ll just drive carefully.

And I did.  Super slow.

I got to a red light and stopped with PLENTY OF TIME AND SPACE before the intersection and I waited for the green light.  I was about 3 miles into my trip to work.  I was on the phone with my sister-in-law so I wasn’t paying attention to my rearview mirror.

Which was probably a good thing, because BANG!!  I got rear-ended.  By someone who did NOT leave enough time and space to make the stop.  I’m glad I didn’t have the stress of watching that happen…

“I just got hit.  Prolly should call you back.”  Sigh.

So lady-who-hit-me and I pulled over.  She came out of her car with handicapped license plates, and pretty much just drug her left side as she walked toward me with her cane.

Her entire left side.

So then, I felt really bad for her.  And I started apologizing to HER because she hit me.  And to top it off, she was just coming from the dentist, so double crappy day for her.

So I went to the back of my car to see how bad it was (kind of bad…) and realized, MY REGISTRATION IS ALSO EXPIRED. 

For crying out loud.

We called the police and the NICEST policeman I have EVER met dealt with our little issue.  I mean, I kind of have a crush on this guy.  He kept saying, “We all make mistakes.”  Super cute!

He cited her for driving too fast for conditions, didn’t cite me for an expired registration, and after one hour of sitting in the snow, I decided, I can change my clothes for sure, and I went home.

And got in my PJs.

BUT, I had a Young Women (church thing) event that night that I really wanted to go to, so I got dressed AGAIN and went to hear what *I* thought was going to be a motivational talk (which I needed) but ended up being a talk about how much I have vs all the starving children in the world and why am I not doing anything about it because I waste so much money on useless things when I could really be helping to build schools in Haiti.

All true.  But not what I dragged myself out of bed for.  I wanted to feel motivated, but all I felt was sad.  And guilty.

And, my back STILL hurt.

Home.  Bed.  30 Rock on Netflix.

I’m going to try again today.

8 Responses to “Are you sure that wasn’t Monday??”

  1. Rough, rough day. Ugh. One of these days you work, we should do lunch. Cause that would make any day better. 🙂

  2. Yikes, what a day. Glad for the nice policeman at least. I hope today is going better.

  3. boo on that day.

    But thanks for blogging about your misfortunes. It makes for a good read.

    love you!

  4. I hate days like that and thanks for sharing. It makes me feel like I’m not the only one.

  5. RATS!!! I DONE WRIT MY REPLY AND POSTED IT, ONLY TO BE RUDELY TOLD I NEEDED TO INCLUDE MY NAME. FAILURE! ERASED MY MESSAGE WHICH WAS UNDOUBTEDLY A MASTERPIECE. NOW YOU MUST SETTLE FOR A SECOND EFFORT, WHICH CAN’T POSSIBLY BE AS PRECIOUS AS MY WRITTEN WORDS WHILE I WAS FRESH AND AT MY BEST.

    WHAT A BUMMER DAY! SAD TO HEAR, BUT GLAD YOU ARE OK. I UNDERSTAND YOUR FEELINGS ABOUT GETTING DRESSED UP TO GO. I WILL PUT OFF HOME TEACHING WEEKS IF NECESSARY TO BE ABLE TO VISIT ALL OUR FAMILIES IN ONE NIGHT–PUTTING ON MY GLAD RAGS TWICE FOR 2 NIGHTS IS SUCH A PAIN. . . . .

    BE CAREFUL HOW YOU TOSS AROUND SUCH WORDS AS “HOBBLING LIKE AN 80 YEAR OLD.” 80 IS SACRED!!

    BIG LOVE, DAD

  6. Although the day sounds horible, your telling of the event was spetacular. Thanks for sharing.

  7. Oh that sounds horrible. I miss you. I just joined your gym!

  8. I echo what Anna said…sorry about the day but this was great writing!

Leave a Reply

