Archive for November 2, 2009

Mini the Driver

Posted in Daily Bread on November 2, 2009 by dunnthat

Mini got his learner’s permit a month or so ago.  I KNOW!  He’s just too young, and, well, let’s face it, too small.

Apparently not according to the DMV.

And he does, however, have my daughter-in-law by three inches now.  And she drives.  All the time.

I’m just sayin’.

Anyway, it is evidently not that easy to pass the learner’s permit test.  They ask weird random questions that simply don’t have anything to do with driving.

Reminding me of a scene from, seriously, the best show on TV, The Big Bang Theory:

As with Sheldon, Mini aced it.  But by actually taking the test.  Passed on the first time.  Yay!

So Mini is smart.  Really smart.  Yet…not so practiced at driving.  I should have realized this when I turned my mid-sized SUV over to him in the Costco parking lot.

This is the difference between the first kid and the last.  With the first kid, I would have been freaking out.  With Mini, I was just laughing.  And I couldn’t stop.

I let him pull out from the parking stall.  “You’re getting pretty close to that car.”  “Still pretty close bud.”  “Awfully close sweetheart.”  “I think you’re going to hit that car honey.  Don’t turn the wheel so much.”

Oh my gosh!  So funny!  And there was a huge black Suburban waiting for us to get out, and I could see the driver was laughing.  And I was laughing.

And poor Mini.  I thought he’d driven before!  I thought my husband had let him drive (against my wishes) but apparently my husband listened to me!

And my car has really sensitive brakes and acceleration.  There was a lot of jerking.

Once we got on the road Mini turned to me and said, “Isn’t this fun?” 

Mini knows and understands sarcasm.  And he’s quite funny.

At one point he reached up to adjust his rearview mirror as we were driving and he started to drift into the oncoming lane, from which was approaching a large cement truck.

I did speak a little more quickly on that one.  But hopefully not too loud.  We were never in any danger, but still.  Yikes.

But he’s so cute!  That kid can get away with anything.